School Terms & Holidays 2020

On 13 August 2019, the Ministry of Education (MOE) released the dates for 2020 school year for all primary schools, secondary schools, junior college (JC) and Millennia Institute (MI).

School Calendar 2020

Primary & Secondary Schools

The school year for all MOE primary and secondary schools will start on 2 January 2020, Thursday and ends on 20 November 2020, Friday.

Semester 1
Term 1 2 Jan (Thu) to 13 Mar (Fri)
Term 2 23 Mar (Mon) to 29 May (Fri)
Semester 2
Term 3 29 Jun (Mon) to 4 Sep (Fri)
Term 4 14 Sep (Mon) to 20 Nov (Fri)

Junior Colleges

For students starting their first year of junior college (JC), school will start on 5 February 2020, Wednesday, after O-level results are released in mid-January 2020.

Second year JC students will begin school on 6 January 2020, Monday.

Year 1 Year 2
Semester 1
Term 1 5 February (Wed) to 13 March (Fri) 6 January (Mon) to 13 March (Fri)
Term 2 23 March (Mon) to 29 May (Fri)
Semester 2
Term 3 29 Jun (Mon) to 4 Sep (Fri)
Term 4 14 Sep (Mon) to 27 Nov (Fri) 14 Sep (Mon) to end of A-Level exams

Millennia Institute

For students starting their first year of Millennia Institute (MI), school will start on 5 February 2020, Wednesday, after O-level results are released in mid-January 2020.

All other MI students will begin school on 6 January 2020, Monday.

Year 1 Year 2 Year 3
Semester 1
Term 1 5 February (Wed) to 13 March (Fri) 6 January (Mon) to 13 March (Fri)
Term 2 23 March (Mon) to 29 May (Fri)
Semester 2
Term 3 29 Jun (Mon) to 4 Sep (Fri)
Term 4 14 Sep (Mon) to 27 Nov (Fri) 14 Sep (Mon) to end of exams

School Vacation 2020

Primary & Secondary Schools

Between Term 1 & 2 14 Mar (Sat) to 22 Mar (Sun)
Between Semesters 1 & 2 30 May (Sat) to 28 Jun (Sun)
Between Term 3 & 4 5 Sep (Sat) to 13 Sep (Sun)
At End of School Year 21 Nov (Sat) to 31 Dec (Thu)

Junior Colleges

  Year 1 Year 2
Between Term 1 & 2 14 Mar (Sat) to 22 Mar (Sun)
Between Semesters 1 & 2 30 May (Sat) to 28 Jun (Sun)
Between Term 3 & 4 5 Sep (Sat) to 13 Sep (Sun)
At End of School Year 28 Nov (Sat) to 31 Dec (Thu) End of ‘A’ Level exams to 31 Dec (Thu)

Millennia Institute

  Year 1 Year 2 Year 3
Between Term 1 & 2 14 Mar (Sat) to 22 Mar (Sun)
Between Semesters 1 & 2 30 May (Sat) to 28 Jun (Sun)
Between Term 3 & 4 5 Sep (Sat) to 13 Sep (Sun)
At End of School Year 28 Nov (Sat) to 31 Dec (Thu) End of exams to 31 Dec (Thu)

Scheduled School Holidays 2020

In addition to the Public Holidays, there will also be 3 scheduled school holidays in 2020.

More details on Singapore’s Public Holidays 2020 available here.

Youth Day 5 Jul (Sun)
(the following Monday, 6 Jul 2020, will be a scheduled school holiday)
Teacher’s Day 4 Sep (Fri)
Children’s Day
(for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only)
9 Oct (Fri)